, ,

Ben Stokes, Alex Hales included in England ODI squad

Alex Hales and Ben Stokes return to the England squad. (Photo Source: Cricbuzz via Getty Images)

England controversial all-rounder Ben Stokes and opener Alex Hales have been included in the England ODI squad for the series against Australia, for the time being. While Alex Hales was given a green signal by the England Cricket Board a couple of days ago, Stokes has also been included with his charges from Crown Prosecution Service still awaited.

Stokes is plying his trade in New Zealand for club Canterbury. The decision is still awaited on Stokes as Avon and Somerset’s police have forwarded their report to Crown Prosecution Service and they are yet to decide on the charges of the England all-rounder.

Alex Hales and Ben Stokes return to the England squad. (Photo Source: Cricbuzz via Getty Images)

Selectors were asked to name the strongest possible squad.

Both Alex Hales and Ben Stokes have been named in the England squad as the selectors were asked to name the strongest available squad. Stokes has been in the news for all the wrong reasons and his return to England colours has been long wanted.

An ECB  release statement read as “Selectors were given clear guidance to name their strongest squad and have made their selections accordingly. Both Alex Hales and Ben Stokes are included, though their involvement remains subject to any relevant legal or disciplinary developments in relation to the incident in Bristol in September.”

Meanwhile, Alex Hales will have his work cut out if he wants to make the cut into the playing XI as openers Jason Roy and Jonny Bairstow have performed well up to the expectations in the two matches that Hales had to miss due to suspension.

England coach, Trevor Bayliss, said, “We’ve been playing some good one-day cricket and Jonny Bairstow and Jason Roy at the top of the order have played well. I can’t see any changes there personally. The two openers we had did very well and it would be difficult to go against them”.

Here is England ODI squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Kerala Stadium to host a match between ‘Kerala Prisoners’ and Sri Lankan Jail Officials

Pujara slip catch, India

Cheteshwar Pujara makes his voice on India’s slip catching vows