, ,

Big names set to join Shane Warne’s Cricket Superstars Tournament

Picture Source: ESPN

There is a good news for veteran cricket fans whose favourite cricketing stars have retired some years ago from the game. Australian legendary spinner Shane Warne has announced many new and old faces who are going to play this competition this year after the success of last year.

Picture Source: chitralekha
Picture Source: chitralekha

When all of this started last year, the cricket all stars league was a successful innovation in itself. It attracted a decent amount of crowd in the USA. The three match series was played in New York, Houston and Los Angeles between Sachin’s Blasters and Warne’s Warriors. Eventually, Warriors whitewashed Blasters 3-0.

There are some very big names from the history of cricket decided to join this precious league in its next edition. Some of them are Australia’s Mitchell Johnson and Michael Clarke, England’s Kevin Pietersen, Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi, New Zealand’s Brendon McCullum.

Some greats like Ricky Ponting, Jacques Kallis, Mahela Jayawardene, Glenn McGrath, Stephen Fleming, Allan Donald, Jonty Rhodes, Kumar Sangakkara are going to continue playing in this tournament after enjoying themselves in the last edition.

Picture Source: ESPN
Picture Source: ESPN

“Great news for cricket lovers around the world who have never seen their heroes play live or only saw them for the first time play last year in the USA. The Cricket Superstars is excited to announce that it’s back again in 2017 & it’s a huge pleasure to announce these players who have signed up to play with more legends to announce soon,” Shane Warne wrote on his Facebook page.

Names of the participating players in 2017 leg of this tournament:

Brian Lara (WI), Shane Warne (AUS), Jacques Kallis (SA), Kevin Pietersen (ENG), Brendon McCullum (NZ), Glenn McGrath (AUS), Wasim Akram (PAK), Ricky Ponting (AUS), Shoaib Akhtar (PAK), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), Mahela Jayawardene (SL), Michael Clarke (AUS), Graeme Smith (SA), Shaun Pollock (SA), Michael Vaughan (ENG), Mitchell Johnson (AUS), Matthew Hayden (AUS), Adam Gilchrist (AUS), Graeme Swann (ENG), Jonty Rhodes (SA), Daniel Vettori (NZ), Darren Gough (ENG), Andrew Symonds (AUS), Allan Donald (SA), Stephen Fleming (NZ).

Written by Chinmay Jathar

A die hard Cricket fan. Cricket is my passion, it runs through my veins.

Mahela Jayawardene assigned as Head Coach of Mumbai Indians

10 sensational spin deliveries in cricket history