Barring the injured James Anderson, England Cricket Board have announced an unchanged squad for the series against India, which is scheduled to commence from 8 November.

Picture Source:

It will be a huge blow for the English side to not have their talisman with the ball in the first game, but he is expected to join the team whilst the 5 match Test series goes on. Anderson suffered a shoulder injury during the first Test against Bangladesh and is currently undergoing rehabilitation.

Jake Ball gets a maiden call from the Test squad after Mark Wood sustained an ankle injury. Ball took a five-fer in his first appearance for England in the first ODI against Bangladesh and played an instrumental role in helping England snatch a win from the jaws of defeat.

It appears as though there will not be too many changes in the batting order. Alastair Cook, the skipper will begin the innings alongside the Northampton batsman Ben Duckett, with Joe Root, Gary Ballance, Ben Stokes and Jonny Bairstow to follow.

Picture Source:

Chris Woakes has been in sublime form in recent times and he will have some additional responsibilities to fulfil alongside senior pacer Stuart Broad. It will be interesting to see how much of a role will Ben Stokes, Steven Finn and Jake Ball will have given the spin tracks that will be provided in India.

Moeen Ali, the chief tormentor of the Indian batting line up when the sides met last time in England in 2014, will have a very important role to play.

In the limited overs, England have been playing top draw cricket but that has not been the case in the longer version. Though it has not been that bad, it’s relatively moderate considering the kind of talent that’s there on the side.

England squad:

Alastair Cook (c), Moeen Ali, Zafar Ansari, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Jake Ball, Gary Ballance, Gareth Batty, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Ben Duckett, Steven Finn, Haseeb Hameed, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes