Disgraced Steven Smith all set to make a return to cricket

Featured, News

After the shameful ball-tampering incident, the former skipper of Australia, Steven Smith once again set to take his guard at the crease. In all likelihood, Steven Smith is going to move his feet in the Canada Global T20 tournament. He was listed among the marquee players of the tourney which include big names in the list.

Steven Smith is currently serving the ban of 1 year imposed by Cricket Australia for his disgraceful act on the field against South Africa in the Test cricket. The skipper in a press meet was in teary eyes while apologising for the mistake he committed and added saying that he would do whatever it is required to get back the trust.

Steven Smith
Steven Smith (image source: financialexpress.com via Reuters)

Cricket Australia told AFP Smith that he had the backing of the executive body to play in the Canadian event. He grabbed the million dollar contract with Rajasthan Royals in IPL but stepped down after the ban imposed. David Warner, who was the vice-captain, was also banned for 12 months while Cameron Bancroft was suspended for nine months.

Chris Gayle, Shahid Afridi, Dwayne Bravo, Lasith Malinga, Chris Lynn, Darren Sammy, David Miller, Sunil Narine and Andre Russell were also named as marquee players alongside Steven Smith. The team selection is set to take place on May 30th.

It is reportedly learnt that there will be six teams in the competition – Vancouver Knights, Winnipeg Hawks, Montreal Tigers, Edmonton Royals, and Toronto Nationals. The Toronto Nationals will have the first pick at the drafts.

The sixth team will be a Caribbean All-Stars side consisting of West Indian domestic players but none of the marquee West Indies players in the draft will be part of that squad. Over 1500 players have applied to be in the drafts for the first season. All the matches will be played at the Maple Leaf Cricket Club in King City, Ontario. The finals will be played on June 15, 2018.

Here are the marquee players: