ESPN Cricinfo releases Men ODI XI for the last 25 Years, Dhoni to lead

Featured, News

Cricket has always been a numbers game and the players’ calibre has always been calculated by the numbers registered by an individual. After all the permutations and combinations, the reputed website, ESPN Cricinfo reveals the best One Day XI for the past 25 years. They recently announced Test XI and now, it is the time for ODI format of the game.

The solid Australian opening batsman and the best wicketkeeper to ever grace the game, Adam Gilchrist and the leading run-scorer in the world cricket, Sachin Tendulkar set to open the innings while the all-important number 3 position has been given to the stylish southpaw Brian Lara. The current Indian skipper, Virat Kohli who is dusting off the record books was named at number 4.

ODI XI 25 years
Sachin and Dhoni. (Picture Source – DNA India/File photo)

The two South African legendary cricketers Jacques Kallis and the recently retired, AB de Villiers will join Virat Kohli in the middle-order department while the best finisher of the game, Mahendra Singh Dhoni will carry the finisher role again. MS Dhoni was also asked to take the wicketkeeper duties despite the presence of Adam Gilchrist.

MS Dhoni has became the only skipper in the world cricket to win all the ICC tournaments and led India to many memorable victories. Taking all his achievemens into count, ESPN named MS Dhoni as the skipper of the side.

Coming to the bowling department, they named the likes of Wasim Akram and Glenn McGrath in the fast bowling section while the all-time legendary spinners Muttiah Muralitharan and Shane Warne are asked to look after the spin department. All in all, the squad looks lethal to deal any kind of opposition on their day.

Here is the Playing XI:

Adam Gilchrist, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Jacques Kallis, MS Dhoni (C&WK), Wasim Akram, Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath, Muttiah Muralitharan