, ,

Just In: ICC announced awards, test team and ODI team of the year

The time has come for the much awaited ICC awards of 2016, the International Cricket Council has announced the Test XI, ODI XI and few other awards for the year 2016. The teams saw many surprising inclusions and omissions. The ICC test team for the year 2016 has four players from England, including the skipper Cook. It includes three players from Australia and Steven Smith as the 12th man.

Surprisingly, the Indian test skipper Virat Kohli couldn’t find any place in the test team despite his consistent performance this year. No Indian apart from the sensational spinner could find a spot in the team. The team didn’t include any players from Pakistan, West Indies and Bangladesh.

The openers of the ICC test team are Australia’s David Warner and the skipper, Alastair Cook. The upper middle order consists Kane Williamson, Joe Root and Adam Voges while Jonny Bairstow has been picked for keeping wickets. Ben Strokes and Ravi Ashwin are the all rounders present in the team. The fast bowling department is also quite strong with Dale Steyn and Mitchell Stark. Facing the spin duo of Ashwin and Rangana Herath will be a difficult task for any International batsman.

The ICC test team of 2016 is as follows: 

Virat Kohli did not find any place in the ICC test team while he is featured as the skipper of the ICC ODI team. The team also includes the Indian opener, Rohit Sharma and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja. David Warner and Mitchell Starc are the only players to feature in both test and ODI teams of the year. Quinton de Kock will be opening the batting along with the Australian opener, Warner. The middle order consists of flamboyant batsmen, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and the South African legendary batsman, Ab de Villiers.

Jos Buttler, Mitchell Marsh and Ravindra Jadeja have been picked for the lower middle order. The bowling line up includes Sunil Narine, Mitchell Starc and Kasigo Rabada. Imran Tahir, the sensational spinner from South Africa has been picked as the  12th man.

Here is the ICC ODI team of the year, 2016: 

ICC has also awarded the players based on their performance during the period between, September 2015 and September 2016. These might be quite hard to pick as there are many players who have performed extremely well in these 12 months. Let us go through the ICC awards for the year 2016.

ICC awarded Marais Erasmus as the ICC umpire of the year 2016. Marias Erasmus has won the David Shepard trophy for showing his dedication, devotion and brilliance in these 12 months as an Umpire. Pakistan’s Misbah-ul-Haq has been named as the winner of the ICC Spirit of Cricket award. The Indian in-form spinner, Ravi Ashwin has bagged two awards to his name as he won the Sir Garfield trophy which is the ICC cricketer of the year and also picked up the ICC test cricketer of the year award.

Picture Source: AP Photo

Quinton de Kock has bagged the ICC ODI cricketer of the year while Mustafizur Rehman, the sensational pacer from Bangladesh has been named as the Emerging player of the year 2016. Rehman has performed quite consistently right from his debut. He has been a nightmare for many International batsmen right from his very first International series.

Carlos Brathwaite wins the ICC T20I performance of the year for his mind boggling display in the final of the ICC World T20 2016. Mohammad Shahzad’s consistent performance against the bigger teams has been recognized as he is named as the ICC associate player of the year 2016. Suize Bates from New Zealand has won both the awards in Women’s Cricket as she has been named as the ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the year and also the ICC Women’s T20 Cricketer of the year.


Written by Akhil Sampatirao

An ardent lover of cricket. Amateur at writing. Devotee of the God of Cricket, Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar. Suggetions and feedback are most welcome, which i believe will help me grow. I'm always available at akhilsampatirao@gmail.com, Thank you! Cheers.

South Africa banned Alviro Petersen 2 years for Fixing scandal

Twitter trolls ICC over its annual awards