, ,

Just In: Yuvraj back in both ODI and T20I squads, Kohli to lead

Picture Source: www.sports.ndtv.com

BCCI have announced the 15 member squads for both ODI and T20 Internationals against England scheduled from 15th of January. There are few interesting additions made by the selection committee. Yuvraj Singh who hasn’t played a One Day international since 2013 has been picked for both the ODIs and T20Is.

Pic credits – AFP

KL Rahul is to be accompanied by Shikhar Dhawan as an opening batsman, who has missed out the recent ODI series against the Kiwis. Rohit Sharma is not in perfect shape and is still recovering from his injury. Virat Kohli is all set to be the full-time Indian skipper as Dhoni resigned as the limited overs skipper just before a couple of days.

The bowling line-up also seems decent in the likes of in-form bowlers, Umesh Yadav, Bumrah, and Bhuvi. Nehra will be leading the pace attack for the T20’s. Ravi Ashwin will lead the spin attack which consists of Jadeja, Mishra, and Chahal who is picked for the T20 Internationals.

The batting department is the stronger part of the Indian team with most of them being in great touch. The most interesting question ahead of the series is whether we get to see the Dhoni of early days since the pressure of captaincy has been transferred to the young Kohli.

Suresh Raina couldn’t find a spot in the ODI squad but made it to the T20 squad. Manish Pandey has also been picked for the ODIs. Manish and Kedar would be fighting against the comeback man, Yuvraj for a place in the middle order. Mishra made it to the ODI squad but Chahal grabbed his spot for the T20’s.

The teams are as follows:

Written by Akhil Sampatirao

An ardent lover of cricket. Amateur at writing. Devotee of the God of Cricket, Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar. Suggetions and feedback are most welcome, which i believe will help me grow. I'm always available at akhilsampatirao@gmail.com, Thank you! Cheers.

When AB de Villiers disgraced the spirit of cricket

Twitter reacts as BCCI announced the Indian ODI and T20 squads