, ,

Karachi Kings release Chris Gayle and Kumar Sangakkara

Chris Gayle (Photo Source: Zee News via PSL Twitter)

The Pakistan Super League franchise Karachi Kings have released Chris Gayle and Kumar Sangakkara from their squad. All the five teams of the Pakistan Super League are required to release total 10 players, two in each category which included foreign players to allow the new franchise Multan Sultans entry into the setup.

The new franchise is expected to sign 10 players next week and hence this move has been taken by the organizers of the league. Karachi Kings have also let go Kieron Pollard from their team. Surprisingly the most veteran batsman in the side Shoaib Malik has also been released.

Chris Gayle (Photo Source: Zee News via PSL Twitter)

Karachi Kings have also let go, Shoaib Malik and Kieron Pollard

Karachi Kings were led by Sri Lankan batting maestro Kumar Sangakkara in the last edition and now the southpaw has been released. The franchise has signed Boom Boom Shahid Afridi and the all-rounder is also expected to lead the side in the third edition of the league next year.

Quetta Gladiators have released Pakistan opening batsman Ahmed Shahzad whereas Lahore has let go Pakistan experience batsman Azhar Ali. In the other releases, Peshawar has released Bangladesh opener, Tamim Iqbal, alongside England limited overs skipper Eoin Morgan and batsman Dawid Malan.

Islamabad United who will be coached by former Pakistan skipper Waqar Younis has released Australia’s all-rounder Shane Watson, England’s Sam Billings and Pakistan lanky fast bowler Mohammad Irfan. The third season of the Pakistan Super League will commence in February next year and Pakistan Cricket Board will hope that more foreign players come to their country to play in the league. The World XI recently played under high security in Pakistan and the country would hope that more countries start to tour them in the times to come.

Sri Lanka Player faces six-match suspension for violating the code of conduct


Pakistan announces squad for ODI series against Sri Lanka