, ,

Mumbai announce squad for the Ranji Trophy semis, Rohit Sharma not included

Picture Source: Indian Express

Many fans were expecting Rohit Sharma to make a surprise comeback by getting into the Mumbai Ranji Trophy squad for the semifinals against Tamil Nadu. For the disappointment of the people, Rohit Sharma has not been included for the semifinals, which means the fans will have to wait for some more time.

Picture Source: Indian Express

But Mumbai Cricket Association have made the most surprising inclusion of the season. 17 year old Prithvi Shaw, who came into limelight few years ago by breaking Sachin Tendulkar record in the school level. He recorded 546 runs and before Pranav Dhanwade scored 1,000 runs, this was the highest score by an Indian.

“All the selectors consulted with the coach and the captain and felt that we should reward Prithvi for his performances. Anyway, the final combination will be decided depending on the conditions in Rajkot,” Milind Rege, the chief selector said.

Barring Rohit Sharma, some other big names in the squad like Dhawal Kulkarni, Ajinkya Rahane and Akhil Herwadkar have been omitted from the squad as they failed to recover from their injuries.

It indeed will be a huge test for the 17 year old Prithvi Shaw if he gets a place in the playing 11. On the other side of the coin, Tamil Nadu have not included star Indian players Murali Vijay and Ravichandran Ashwin in their sides for the semifinal. Both sides have played some exceptional cricket and it will be one of the toughest things to guess on who will march past to the finals.

Mumbai squad: Aditya Tare (capt & wk), Prithvi Shaw, Praful Waghela, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad, Abhishek Nayar, Shardul Thakur, Balwinder Singh Sandhu, Tushar Deshpande, Royston Dias, Sufiyan Shaikh, Vijay Gohil, Akshay Girap and Eknath Kerkar.

Tamil Nadu Squad: Abhinav Mukund (captain), Vijay Shankar (vice-captain), L Suryaprakash, Kaushik Gandhi, B Inderjith, Dinesh Karthik, B Aparajith, Aswin Crist, K Vignesh, Aushik Srinivas, T Natarajan, N Jagadeesan, Ganga Sridhar Raju, Rahil Shah and Malolan Rangarajan

Written by Anuraag Peesara

Your passion is what drives you from within. My passion is cricket and expressing my views on the gentlemen's game gives me immense pleasure. Other than cricket, i'm an ardent supporter of Manchester United and Borussia Dortmund.

Watch: Carlos Brathwaite does the unthinkable

Azhar Ali’s triple ton against West Indies